Hope for My Kiddos

I hope when they are older
they realize just how
much work went
into being their mommy
How I battled
the world to protect them-
the demons and monsters
who take human form-
the demons and monsters
who lived in the darkness
of my own mind-
I hope that among
the mountain of failures
that I’m sure I will
have accumulated during
the course of my
very human life
they will also see
my accomplishments
in raising them
to be kind creatures
in a world of cruelty-
to be the change where
it is needed-
to think for themselves-
to live simply and
love freely-
I hope when they
are older and
I am long gone from
this earth
they think of me
and smile

Leave a Reply

