Night Light

I sleep with my bedroom door
open
Too much of the dark scares me
The monsters that lurk
The memories that are nocturnal
Nightmares of races with
no finish line
Trapped in a hole I can’t
dig myself out of
Cliff diving freefall jerking awake
impact
I need just a little light
Just a lot of you
To hold the panic attack black hole
away
To give voice to these speechless
words that my fear has turned
the volume down on
To hold my hand and stop its shaking
because it does not rock me to
sleep
It jolts me awake with a brutality
that leaves me decimated and
exhausted
So
I sleep with my bedroom door
and my heart open
because I need a night light
and your love
to save me from
darkness

3 thoughts on “Night Light

Leave a Reply

