Smile for Santa

And what do you want
little one?
he asks
Beard of white and
suit a bright shade
of red
I don’t like sitting
on his lap
I don’t know him
I don’t trust him
It’s hard to smile for
the flash bulb
Although they keep
asking
These people with the pointy
ear hats
They call me
sweetie
and
sugar
But those aren’t my
name
He has bad breath
and he’s sweaty
This dress itches
and I don’t like
the tights
or
shoes
What do I want?
To actually be the two
phrases I say repeatedly
to myself
to others
I’m okay
I’m fine
I squirm on his lap
I just want to go
I don’t want the
candy cane
or the picture
for my mother
Looking around for an
escape route
I say
A coloring book
and
crayons

3 thoughts on “Smile for Santa

Leave a Reply

