Too Many Martinis

Just coming in from
a night out
Too many martinis have gone
to my head
My room and my world
are whirling-twirling
My tummy has taken a ride
on a roller coaster
But in a flight of butterflies
way
Not an I’m about to be sick
way
It’s 3am and anything is
possible
That’s what my heart is leading
me to believe
and the gin
But anything is not
possible
My lips won’t meet your
sleepy ones and work
their way down your
neck
And you won’t whisper into
the early morning that
you’ve been waiting for
me to finally come
home
We won’t make love in
this bed that is spinning
over and over until these
sheets are well and truly
wrecked
Just coming in from
a night out
and too many martinis have
made my trapped words pour
unrestrained from where I’ve
tried to lock
them away

2 thoughts on “Too Many Martinis

Leave a Reply

