Hibernating Demons & Insomnia

Shorter days and
the nights seem to go on
forever
Plunged into a darkness
I can’t sleep my way
through
My monsters wait for
this time of year
Hibernating  through summer
Regaining strength and
dreaming up new
nightmares
Sleep is found when
day breaks through my
window and
my awakened demon retreats
to its cave
comforting its shadow
sharpening its darkness
waiting for sunset
Shorter days and
the nights seem to go on
forever
when I’m sleepless

One thought on “Hibernating Demons & Insomnia

Leave a Reply

