No Filter

Standing in the check out
line
The older gentlemen before
me is buying birdseed
and veggies
He reaches for a pack of
Juicy Fruit gum
That reminds me of my
crazy uncle who burned
my house down

weird look
He died in prison. Choked to death.
mouth open now
He was my mom’s youngest
brother
They were both born
in September
Her brothers
It’s almost the end
of October now
The year is sure going by fast

shuffles nervously and pays
Have a great day
My turn up to pay and
the cashier looks
concerned

2 thoughts on “No Filter

Leave a Reply

