Sing Me A Song

The distance between
us crackles through
my phone
and fills the silence
We’re both at a
loss for words
Too much to say
and no right way
of saying it
Everything is different now
Miles and memories
separate us
Even our breathing is
muted
The minutes tick by
with neither of us
speaking
or ending the call
You sigh quietly
A rush of breath
filling the void
and mumble
I miss you
I contemplate my answer
for what is probably far too
long
Wonder to myself why we
didn’t do this
over text
Who actually makes calls
anymore
I take a deep breath and hold
it for a bit
Then reply
Sing me a song

Leave a Reply

