If I Met Oz

If I were to meet
the true wizard
Not the tiny
scared man pretending
behind the curtain
But the real life
full of power
could grant your deepest
wish
and make your wildest
dream come true

wizard
What would I ask for
Maybe my childhood innocence
back
To grow up in a warm home
never doubting-always knowing
what unconditional love
felt like
Maybe to have my first love
back
To see where our lives would’ve
taken us together
Maybe I’d instead ask for you
The opportunity to explore what
our love could have been
Sitting here
Watching the morning sun
burn away the autumn fog
My feet bare of socks
much less ruby slippers
I think if my path ever ran
across the true wizard’s
I’d ask him for happiness
Simply to be happy with who
I am and where I am

Leave a Reply

