a Distance too Great

I wish you could
visit me
Or I could
visit you
But wherever people go
after they’ve died
is too far from
where I am
My tears flow and
your shoulders aren’t
here to catch them
My body shakes
from crying and
your arms aren’t
here to hold me
Right now
consumed by this
sadness
I wish you were here
with me
or
I was there with you
But there’s an unknown
distance and time
separating us
There are no secret
passages
or hidden short cuts
that I can use to
find you
And your trip was one way-
there’s no returning from
your final destination
So I’ll quietly cry
into the sleeve of
your sweatshirt
The one I stole the
last time we celebrated
my birthday
Outside-under the stars-
watching the fire die out
Hesitating the return to
lives we didn’t want to
face
And I’ll remember what it was
like
to have your comfort
to have your reassuring words
to have your friendship
to just have
you
I wish you could
visit me
Or I could
visit you
because tonight I really
need my
friend

Leave a Reply

