Sidereal

Looking up into the
night sky
My head resting beside
his
His body providing warmth to
mine
I timidly confess
I must’ve wished for
you every night
on every star
with every breath my
body held
I looked for you
endlessly in
the constellations

I hold my breath
Already regretting
my unusual emotional
outburst
It’s not like me to
expose my feelings in
such a verbal way
Fear of rejection typically
holding me back
I’m sure that this time
will be no different
and in the silence I
try to prepare my heart
for the breaking about
to come
But he kisses the top
of my head
Takes my shaking hand
into his
and says in a low voice
barely heard over the
crickets and cicadas
I wished for you too

6 thoughts on “Sidereal

Leave a Reply

