Blindsided

I spent a lot of time actively
avoiding the opposite sex
Avoiding genetic addictions
and inherited dysfunctions
Starving myself and cutting my skin
Painting smiles and practicing “I’m okay
Held back tears drown me in private
and carried secrets exhausted me
I was a mess on the inside
A dying girl holding herself
together with denial and
avoidance
Buried beneath shame
Suffocating in the rubble of
what my life could’ve been
I locked myself away
Terrified by the thought of
really being seen
But somehow you saw me
anyway
Beneath the carefully constructed
layers and well meaning lies
of “I’ve got everything under control
You saw beauty in what I labeled
broken
Relentlessly pointed it out to me
until I started to see
it for myself
I was so busy avoiding everything
in my life
I never saw you coming

2 thoughts on “Blindsided

Leave a Reply

