Resting Up

Today I’m not 100%. So I have been resting on my sofa with earbuds in listening to classical music and reading poetry. It’s something I do. Usually helps. This is my current situation…

On a dust-covered road I search for your lips.
I bend over and look under each moss-wrapped stone.
coiled into spirals snails sleep in moist shade.
I wake them and ask where is he? they stretch out their drowsy
horns peek from their shells squint at the sun.
and vanish saying nothing. I ask the stone smooth
its rough surface with my warm hungry hand. it’s silent.
I ask the sun. it bends its head to the west and I go
after the sun westward to find you.

By Halina Poświatowska

(and)

Leave a Reply

