I Moved

I don’t live there
anymore
In the silent
house of fear
that I’m not
good enough
I’ve moved
and left no forwarding
address
So you can keep those
issues
Let them pile up
on the cracked steps
of your disapproval
Splintered and always
trying to get under
my skin
I don’t live there anymore
and the possibility of
a visit isn’t likely
I’ve built myself
a cottage of
confidence
decorated with the
sunny yellow of
my future
Peppered my walls
with the framed stills
of my dreams
And filled my shelves
with every hope
my heart could
conjure
I don’t live there
anymore
and I’m not sure
why I ever
did

4 thoughts on “I Moved

Leave a Reply

