’74 Camaro Restoration

I couldn’t reach the
pedals
or see above the dash
but I dreamed every night
of taking my uncle’s car
for a drive
He would joke and say
that when I was finally
the adult I was pretending to be
I could
He died in a house
fire when I was 8
I remember watching the flames
through the trees
I could hear my dad screaming
at firefighters to let
him go inside to get him
Just a few minutes
He knew exactly where
he would be
I didn’t go to the funeral
I was too young
despite my show at
maturity
His car sat for years
Damaged from the fire
We sat damaged by
his death
We needed time
to heal
The years passed
quickly
I finally did grow into
the adult I was
rushing into
My brother recently shared
with me a photo
My uncle’s car being
restored
His memory thriving
years after he’s been
gone
I still dream of driving
his car
Taking him up on
his promise
I’m a grown up now
Uncle Ronnie
but I still don’t think
I can reach those pedals
or see over the dash

4 thoughts on “’74 Camaro Restoration

Leave a Reply

