Behind These Walls

On the surface
What everyone can
see
What I let everyone
see
is a bright welcome
mat of smiles
An open door that
easy laughter blows through
But beneath the spackled
on happiness
are the holes and
broken plaster
of the walls
I’ve built to
hide behind
I’m really just a mess
My shelves are full of
questions I’m too afraid
to have answered
My windows are covered
in years of dust
and the light just no
longer shines through
them
I live in this darkness
and call it home

Leave a Reply

