Reminiscence of Sol

I loved
driving along the
dry lake bed
You could see for
what seemed like forever
The clouds hovering
so close to the ground.
The setting sun within reach
And if you climbed
the nearest big rock
you could hug the moon
The heat was dry
soaking into my bones
like no heat this southern girl
had ever felt before
I always stopped fully
to appreciate the
sunsets
So many shades of oranges and reds that it seemed to burn the entire sky
with fire
Engulfing the day in a blaze
Completely incinerating it
Letting nothing linger into the next
I watched in envy
Wanting my old self
to be burned off
so that nothing but a fresh me
remained

4 thoughts on “Reminiscence of Sol

Leave a Reply

