Revelation

If you opened up
my journal
And read the pages
inside
You’d find
a girl looking for love
a teen gathering her broken pieces
a woman learning to accept herself
the cuts on my skin
the dreams I don’t share
the people I’ve lost
the words I choked down
the tears I never shed
You’d see
that I’m not afraid of things
like dying and demons
Of monsters that lurk
or fires that burn
I’m terrified of offering
myself up to love
and not being good enough
If you were to sit
down and look at
every word
on every line
Then you’d know
exactly who I am
and that’s enough
reason for me to
keep this book
closed

Leave a Reply

